Prototype 1 – Toile

I start my toile with a mini mannequin because I was trying to minimize fabric wastage since I was making “sustainable” design. I used an A4 paper to make the master plan.

PicMonkey Collage
Zero waste “worry” pattern. Left: Top, Right: Skirt
PicMonkey Collage
Prototype 1 – Top
PicMonkey Collage3
Prototype 1 – Skirt

I loved the outcome of my zero waste pattern but I faced a challenge when trying to resize the pattern into regular mannequin size .

PicMonkey Collage1
Oversized Top

The difference is HUGE! It looked like I resized it into  XL size and not M size. And the funny thing is for the skirt, I resized it into S size which are too short to cover the hip area when the dummy wear it.

PicMonkey Collage2
“Mini” Skirt

So for the actual prototypes, I am going to re-do the pattern while keeping in mind of mannequin proportion and for the skirt I am going to use a softer fabric so it will not be too structured since now it kinda looked like too overwhelming.

signature-picsm

Leave a Reply

